Location & private ethics

At Rive, you think your privacy is a serious matter. NEVER, EVER, will we publish your information without your consent, will it be directly or indirectly. Nor do we publish your location without you actively agreed on it. Why?

Because your freedom rely on your ability to choose yourself what you want to be public and what you want to be private or unknown. Nobody has the right to take that right away from you. And each time we think a provider of information misuse your freedom, we kick it out! With us, you will always be assured that your privacy is first!

We think some information make sense to be public, some not. Some information make sense to be localised, some not. With us, be vigilant on what you want to share! Our platform is like the main street of your city. Do not post what you do not want to share with others. For information, we believe that less than 10% of posts on major social networks we use are localised.

As explained above, we do not use information that you would not be aware of or that you would not have explicitly given right to use in good knowledge of the consequence. For example, we do not have access to data like your location in Real Time (nor after anyways, if you do not post a localised post) when you use your accounts on the other social networks.

On Rive, you can see geotagged or localised posts that we believe were meant to be public. At least, it means that you chose it to be public. Furthermore, we keep the right to withdraw any information that we feel was posted by error or looks inconsistent with usual rules or laws.

We only publish relevant and qualitative information: we believe that a good information is a post which has been published with knowledge and highest awareness degree. We consider that the basic freedoms of conscience have to be expressly respected. Privacy respect is a fundamental engagement for the proper functioning of Rive app.

1. How to geotag a post on Twitter?

You can choose to add a location to your Tweets using Twitter for Android, Twitter for iOS or twitter.com.

If you choose to add a Tweets using twitter.com, you may know that your post won't be geotagged precisely. Twitter current desktop version doesn't allow to share a precise location. It means that if you use desktop version and want to geotagged a post, this one won't appear with an exact location on Rive. We recommend you to use Twitter mobile version.

Tweeting with your location on Twitter for iOS or Android:

To add a location to your Tweets:

Once location services are enabled on your device, compose a Tweet as you normally would.

Choose to toggle on the "Share precise location" button (available on Twitter for iOS version 6.26 or later, and on Twitter for Android version 5.55 or later), your precise location (latitude and longitude) will be associated with the Tweet and findable via API.

For earlier versions of Twitter for iOS and Android, your Tweet will always contain both your selected location name and the precise location of your device (which can be found via API) when you Tweet.

The next time you Tweet using the Twitter app on the same device, your general location will automatically be displayed with your Tweet, using your current location. For Twitter for iOS versions before 6.26 and Twitter for Android versions before 5.55, your precise location will automatically be attached to the Tweet (and findable through API) along with the general location.

To stop including your location in your Tweets:

Tap the Tweet compose icon.

Tap the location marker to open the dropdown list of locations.

Your current location will be highlighted. Tap "Remove" in the top left to remove your location information from the Tweet. Your location information will not appear in future Tweets.

Tweeting with your location on the web:

Tweeting with your location is disabled by default for everyone.

To add a location to your Tweets:

In the Tweet compose box on twitter.com, click Add Location (next to the location marker) in the compose box.

Your current location will be displayed.

Click the location button again to see a dropdown menu with other options. You can choose any location listed, and your selected location will show up with a green checkmark.

You can also search for a location by using the search field at the top of the location menu.

The Turn location on settings will be saved, so the next time you compose a Tweet on twitter.com your location information will automatically appear and be associated with your Tweet.

To stop including your location in your Tweets:

In the Tweet compose box on twitter.com, click the button with your location.

Select Turn off location from the dropdown menu.

The Turn off location setting will be saved, so next time you compose a Tweet on twitter.com your location information will not appear.

2. How to geotag a post on Instagram?

After you take or choose a photo and add any effects or filters you want, you can add your location.

To add your location:

Tap Add Location.

Find your location in the suggestions or search for the location and select it.

Tap Share.

You can also add or edit the location of a photo you've already posted. Adding a custom location is no longer supported.

When you add a location to a photo or video, that photo or video will be added to your photo map. If you don't select a location, your post won't be added to your map. You can set your profile to private so that only approved followers will be able to see your map. If your profile is public, anyone can see your map.

Each time you post an Instagram photo you'll have the choice to add a location or not.

If you set your profile to private, geotagged posts won't be loaded on Rive.

If you have published something on Twitter or Instagram but don't see it on the map, be sure that you've geotagged your post before.

If you still don't see it on the map, wait a few minutes. It's possible that our server hasn't yet download your post on the map.